This award is made to felicitate members who have given much of their time towards the activities of the Institute and served the Institute with dedication

Criteria for the Award


1.1, Chartered Chemists who have served for a minimum period of 12 years as Council members and/ or Members of statutory committees


1. 2, 07 years as office bearers in Council and / or in statutory committees


1.3, 10 years in appropriate combination of the above

shall be eligible to considered for the Distinguish Service Award, provided their total contribution to the work of the Institute is considered as adequate by the search committee

(In view of the unavailability of records, service to the Institute after 1971 will be considered)

2. The search committee shall meet during the beginning of each calendar year and consider the names of suitable person / persons for nomination of the Council

3. The decision of Council will be final

Distinguished Service Awardees

1995  Prof J N O Frernando

           Mr N I N S Nadarasa

1997  Prof E R Jansz 

1999  R S Rmamakrishna

           Mr T Kandasamy

2000  Prof H D Gunawardhana

           Ms C L M Nethsinghe

2001  Mr E G Somapala

2006  Mr Y Mahesan

           Prof S Wimalasena

2008   Mr H S M Pieris

2010   Dr. L S R Arambewela

            Prof S I Samarasinghe

2011   Prof S Hewage

2012  Prof W S Fernando

2013  Prof M D P de Costa

           Dr Nandani Ediriweera

2016   Prof Tuley de Silva

           Dr Upali Samarajeewa

2017 Prof S P Deraniyagala